California businesses with 5 or more employees MUST provide harassment prevention training every 2 years (SB1343). Employees are required to have 1 hour of training. Supervisors and Managers are required to have 2 hours of training.
UPDATE! On August 30, 2019, Governor Gavin Newsom signed SB 778. This bill is effective immediately and extends the deadline for employers with 5 or more employees to provide anti-harassment training by one year – from January 1, 2020 until January 1, 2021. The new law also allows covered employers who have provided anti-harassment training in 2019 to wait until 2021 before providing refresher training.
If you hire temporary employees, for 2019, the training for temporary employees must be completed within six (6) months of hire - some employees might not be with your company that long.
However, starting on January 1, 2020, seasonal and temporary employees, or any employee that is hired to work for less than six (6) months must be trained within 30 calendar days after the hire date or within 100 hours worked, whichever occurs first.
Temporary workers employed by a temporary agency must be trained by the temporary agency, not the client.
For frequently asked questions, check out our Harassment Prevention Fact Sheet.
CEA delivers Harassment Prevention training in multiple ways:
On Site at your Location in English and Spanish:
- Harassment Prevention for Supervisors & Managers - 2 hour
- Harassment Prevention for Employees - 1 hour
- Harassment Prevention Training for Boards – 2 hour
Monthly Webinars in English only
Harassment Prevention Webinars are presented live by a CEA HR Director, and are held monthly. Check the calendar of events for dates.
- 2 Hour Harassment Prevention for Supervisors & Managers
CEA members: $35.00/each
Non members: $55.00/each
- 1 Hour Harassment Prevention for Employees
CEA members - $25.00/each
Non members - $45.00/each
Online Training in English and Spanish
Learn at your own pace 24/7. This training allows you to leave the training, and pick it up again where you left off. These courses must be completed with 60 days from purchase date.
- Harassment Prevention for Supervisors & Managers (2 hour)
Free to CEA members thru ThinkHR Learn
Non members - $40.00
- Harassment Prevention for Employees (75 min.)
CEA members - $20.00/each
Non members - $30.00/each
Need an investigation?
"We just completed our AB 1825 training at our facility for this year. The presentation was informative, professional, and engaging. Most importantly was that our managers and supervisors were encouraged to ask questions at any time and they did. This is so important in the learning process as everyone benefits and keeps our company in compliance with our wonderful California labor laws ..... LOL"
Lisa Edwards Controller
"Our company used CEA for AB 1825 Training and all employees in attendance feedback was very positive.
It was a fast pace, well-informed training, with real-life situations discussed. We will definitely be using CEA for future trainings."
DeeAnn Enlow, Human Resources
Foothill Fire Protection Inc.