California law has a "minimum salary test" that employees must meet before they can be classified as exempt from wage and hour laws (overtime, breaks, lunches), along with a duties test. These salary rates will increase beginning January 1, 2020.
Is this the "new normal?" Fall in the Golden State has always brought high winds and high fire danger, but the situation has worsened in recent years. Once again, California is facing fast-burning wildfires that are destroying homes and communities. But now, power outages are hitting hundreds of thousands of customers in California and having a severe impact on individuals and businesses.
Assembly Bill 5, also known as the "Gig Economy Bill," was just signed into law by Governor Newsom. How will it impact employers that employ independent contractors in California?
Office parties can boost morale and lighten the mood. They can help connect people in different departments and at different levels in the organization. But Halloween office parties come with their potential frights! How can your company have fun without the scary ghouls from HR coming to spirit you away?
California Employers Association would like to congratulate our Board President, Maggie Bender-Johnson, for the prestigious recognition of being listed as one of Sacramento's "40 Under 40"!
Two employees at a 99 Cents Only store in Redding alleged that an assistant manager sexually assaulted them in a walk-in freezer, and the store retaliated against them after they complained. The DFEH recently reached a settlement of $1.2 million in this matter.
How should employers handle the power outages across California? Find out how to pay your employees by classification and how to plan ahead for natural disasters.
The United States Department of Labor (DOL) issued its final rule increasing the minimum salary test that a worker must meet in order to be classified as exempt under the Fair Labor Standards Act ("FLSA"). The rule increases the federal minimum salary level to $35,568 effective January 1, 2020.
There once was a time when labor law posters were only updated at the beginning of each year. Today, multiple updates can occur throughout the year, leaving employers scratching their heads—2019 was one of those years!
September is National Preparedness Month with the theme Prepared, Not Scared. In California, all employers are required to have an "Emergency Action Plan" that designates the actions employers and employees must take to ensure employee safety from fire and other emergencies.
Yes, it’s true; the workforce is aging. By 2024, one-quarter of the workforce will be over age 55 -- with the fastest growth rate among those 65 and older.
California's OSHA required posting has a new mandatory update, get your updated poster or posting now to stay compliant.
Governor Gavin Newsom has signed Senate Bill (SB) 778. Effective immediately, this bill extends the deadline for employers with five or more employees to provide anti-harassment training by one year—from January 1, 2020 until January 1, 2021.
If you recently completed a Form I-9 for a new hire you may have noticed that the current edition of the form (Form I-9 07/17/17 N) has an August 31, 2019 expiration date.
Recently, the DFEH settled a harassment case for $450,000. The DFEH charged a mobile home park with violating California law by subjecting an employee to sex and national origin harassment, discrimination, and retaliation.
Last week, hundreds of immigration officials swarmed in on seven Mississippi food processing plants—arresting 680 workers and seizing business records in the largest immigration sting of its kind in more than a decade.
Many California employers have been impacted by recent wildfires. If there is a fire in the region, employees may be exposed to unhealthy air. Cal/OSHA Standards Board recently approved an emergency regulation to protect workers from hazards related to wildfire smoke.
It’s time to celebrate the reason that the California Employers Association has existed for over 80 years, our wonderful members! There is strength in numbers and we continue to grow our services and our membership each year.
California’s New Mandatory Retirement Savings Program is Open. CalSavers Retirement Savings Program (CalSavers) is a state-run retirement savings program for private-sector employees whose employers do not offer a retirement program.
Beginning July 1, 2019, the following cities and counties must increase their minimum wage.
We listened to what our members have been asking for, and one of those requests is: “please stop mailing our invoices. We want to receive our invoices electronically.”
Yes, we did have a lot of rain this year, but now the heat has arrived with full force! The National Weather Service has issued excessive heat warnings up and down the state – from San Bernardino County to Fresno, Sacramento and the Bay Area.
Did you know that all California employers are required to have a basic workplace safety program known as an Injury and Illness Prevention Program (IIPP)?
Federal law requires all private employers with 100 or more employees to file the federal EEO-1 report annually, as well as certain federal contractors with 50 or more employees. The EEO-1 Report is a compliance survey mandated by federal statute and regulations. The survey requires company employment data to be categorized by race/ethnicity, gender and job category. Information is used to support civil rights enforcement and analyze employment patterns, such as representation of women and minorities in certain industries or regions.
May is Mental Health Awareness Month. One in five adults (43.8 million people) will experience a mental illness in any given year. The consequences of living with a mental illness or substance use disorder affect all areas of a person’s life, including work. Serious mental illness can also impact an employer’s bottom line and costs America $193.2 billion in lost earnings per year.
Did you know that starting January 1, 2019, California began allowing an individual applying for an original or renewal drivers’ license or identification card to self-identify as male (M), female (F) or non-binary (X)? Applicants in California can now self-certify their chosen gender category and do not need any type of documentation from a physician regarding gender or gender identity.
An increasingly common series of questions employers have been asking of late relate to their employees’ use of CBD. Will use of CBD products impair employees? If an employee or applicant tests positive on a drug test and blames seemingly innocuous use of CBD, what should we do? Should it be permissible to allow use of CBD products in a zero-tolerance workplace?
It may surprise you to learn that the number one type of federal employment claim is not harassment, it’s retaliation. That’s right – year over year, the majority of all claims filed with the Equal Employment Opportunity Commission are for retaliation.
SB 1343, requires that all employers of 5 or more persons provide 1 hour of sexual harassment and abusive conduct prevention training to non-managerial employees and 2 hours of sexual harassment and abusive conduct prevention training to managerial employees by January 1, 2020.
For decades now, the California Equal Pay Act has prohibited an employer from paying its employees less than employees of the opposite sex for equal work. In 2016, the California Fair Pay Act was enacted to strengthen the Equal Pay Act.