Time to get your company training done in 2020!
By now you've probably heard that California requires all employers of 5 or more persons to provide 1 hour of sexual harassment and abusive conduct prevention training to non-managerial employees and 2 hours of sexual harassment and abusive conduct prevention training to managerial employees by January 1, 2021. (The initial deadline was January 1, 2020, but a law passed last year gave employers one more year to comply.)
Good News: CEA provides our members with free online supervisory harassment prevention training! CEA also provides plenty of other live and webinar training options to meet your company's needs.
That's right! All CEA members have access to our ThinkHR learning management system which includes, a two-hour supervisor/management harassment prevention training, as well as 300 other online trainings.
Existing law requires online, onsite or webinar trainings to be interactive and include practical examples of harassment. Training must be provided by trainers or educators with knowledge and expertise in those areas.
Also, in determining whether you employ 5 or more persons under the new law keep in mind that:
- There is no requirement that the 5 persons work at the same location or that all work or reside in California.
- Under the DFEH's regulations, full-time, part-time, temporary and independent contractors are counted toward the minimum 5 person count.
If you have additional questions about harassment prevention training requirements, check out CEA's Harassment Prevention Training Fact Sheet.
Meet the Training Deadline
If you're ready to schedule your harassment prevention training, for your supervisors or employees, give us a call today or check out our harassment prevention training options. We're here to help you comply with California's employment laws and make sure your workplace is safe and respectful for everyone.