2018 Minimum Wage Increase

Tags:
Posted by: CEA's HR Advisor Team on Wednesday, December 27, 2017 at 12:00:00 am

Under landmark legislation to increase the minimum wage to $15 per hour over time (between now and 2022), California’s minimum wage will increase to $11 per hour for employers with 26 employees or more, and $10.50 for employers with 25 or fewer employees, on January 1, 2018.

Currently, the state minimum wage is $10.50 per hour for employers with 26 or more employees and $10 per hour for employers with 25 or fewer employees.

While State law requires that most California workers be paid the minimum wage, many cities and counties have a local minimum wage that is even higher than the State rate. CEA has a handy Minimum Wage and Paid Sick Leave Fact Sheet that covers the ever changing and numerous local minimum wage and paid sick leave laws around the state.

POSTINGS:  Remember that employers are required to post information on wages, hours and working conditions at a worksite area accessible to employees, in addition to your labor law poster. Notices for these IWC wage orders in English and Spanish can be downloaded and printed from the workplace postings page at http://www.dir.ca.gov/wpnodb.html.

Order your state and federal poster today!


Comments

6 comments on "2018 Minimum Wage Increase"

Leave a Comment

Jessica - HR Director on June 20, 2018 at 8:52:17 am said:
LA County minimum wage eff July 1, 2018 $13.25 (26 or more employees) $12.00 (25 or fewer employees)
Dena Cantone on June 18, 2018 at 1:22:49 pm said:
Zip code 91773 what & when will increase effect us?
Jessica - HR Director on May 21, 2018 at 8:13:12 am said:
If the franchises are all owned and operated by the same employer, then all employees would count towards the minimum employee count. See "Who is Considered an Employer..." here https://www.dir.ca.gov/dlse/SB3_FAQ.htm or, if you are a member of CEA, call us to discuss.
Haley on May 20, 2018 at 11:42:35 am said:
So my question is if you work for a franchisee company and between all 3 locations the owners have there are more than 25 employees. But not if you divide them up by location. Is 10.50 still the minimum wage or should they be getting paid more because the entire company consists of more than 25 workers
Jessica - HR Director on May 8, 2018 at 8:32:37 am said:
We are not aware of a minimum wage going up in May but there are so many in the state it can be hard to keep track! We have a chart under "Additional Resources" on our website that covers most of them: https://www.employers.org/clientuploads/hr_forms/Minimum_Wage_and_PSL_Fact_Sheet_also_in_ADD_RESOURCES.pdf
Angelina on May 8, 2018 at 6:16:49 am said:
Is minimum wage going up to $12.00 this may?

HR Answers
On Site Assistance
Leadership Development